Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Emeritus Professor of Music David Wyn Jones

David Wyn Jones


String quartet in E flat major, arranged from Symphony No. 84 (‘Paris’) 84
String quartet in B flat major, arranged from Symphony No. 85 (‘Paris’) La Reine
String quartet in D major, arranged from Symphony No. 86 (‘Paris’) 86


Libera me, for use in performances of Mozart’s Requiem Seyfried

David Wyn Jones is Professor of Music at Cardiff University. He has written extensively on music and musical life in Vienna in the Classical Period. As well as biographies of Haydn and Beethoven, published by Cambridge University Press, he is the editor of the Oxford Composer Companion. Haydn (Oxford University Press, 2002). His most recent book is a broader study, Music in Vienna, 1700, 1800, 1900 (Boydell Press, 2016). Previous scholarly editions of music include the Op. 18 symphonies of J. C. Bach, folksong settings by Haydn and string quartets by Vanhal.

Return to home page