Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Professor Fabrizio Ammetto

Fabrizio Ammetto


Concerto in D Minor (Violin solo, strings · basso continuo )Bach


Six Trio Sonatas, volume 1 (Two violins · basso continuo) Bach

Six Trio Sonatas, volume 2 (Two violins · basso continuo) Bach

Fabrizio Ammetto – an Italian performer and musicologist – is a Full Professor of violin, baroque music, chamber music, musical analysis, musical philology and musicology at the Department of Music and Performing Arts of the University of Guanajuato, Mexico. He is a member of the Association of Italian University Professors of Music (ADUIM), the Mexican Academy of Sciences (AMC) and the Mexican National System of Researchers (SNI), a body set up by the National Council for Science and Technology (CONACyT) of Mexico.

He holds degrees in violin, viola, and electronic music, and received a Master’s degree in the methodology and techniques of music education and musicological research from the University of Perugia, and a Ph.D. in musicology from the University of Bologna.

He has directed the Civico Istituto Musicale ‘A. Onofri’ of Spoleto, and taught baroque violin at the Conservatorio ‘G. Verdi’ in Turin. As a violinist, violist and conductor, he has given over 800 concerts in Europe and America. He is the founder and director of ‘L’Orfeo Ensemble’ of Spoleto and the ‘Baroque Ensemble’ of the University of Guanajuato.

Fabrizio Ammetto has produced numerous critical editions and recordings of eighteenth- and nineteenth-century instrumental music (Albinoni, Bergonzi, Boccherini, Bruni, Gregori, Jacchini, B. Marcello, Motta, Mozart, Paganini, G. Taglietti, Telemann, Tessarini, Torelli, Valentini, Valeri, Vivaldi and Wassenaer), and has published several articles in international musicological journals, chapters and books, among which are I concerti per due violini di Vivaldi (Florence, Olschki, 2013) and El concierto antiguo italiano, 1692-1710 (Lucca, Libreria Musicale Italiana, 2019). He is a member of the editorial team for the Italian National Edition of the works of Luigi Boccherini (Bologna, Ut Orpheus) and also a member of the international Editorial Committee of the Istituto Italiano Antonio Vivaldi (Venice, Fondazione Giorgio Cini), which oversees the Critical Edition of the works of the Red Priest, for which he has edited the volume containing Vivaldi’s twelve Suonate da camera a tre, Op. I (Milan, Ricordi, 2018).

Return to home page