Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Joseph Haydn

Symphony No. 73

‘La Chasse’

arranged by John Peter Salomon for
flute · two violins · viola · violoncello · pianoforte ad lib.

edited by Christopher Hogwood

A “symphony quintetto” adaptation of one of Haydn’s favourite works made by John Peter Salomon, and now published for the first time in full score with parts. The keyboard contribution is optional, though effective, and the ingenuity with which the strings and flute accommodate Haydn’s full orchestral writing is a tribute to the skill of his concert-master, Salomon; the autograph of this arrangement came to light only recently and has been the prime source for this new edition. A wonderful addition to the repertoire of sociable Hausmusik as well as a delight for professionals in concert.

As always, HH has produced an interesting and well edited publication.
Early Music Review

Add to shopping basket
La caccia
Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Symphony No. 73 in D major, La Chasse
HH296.fsp  · ISMN 979 0 708092 43 8 · ISBN 978-1-905779-83-3 
How to order
Return to home page