Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Joseph Haydn

Concerto in A major

Violin and orchestra

Anton Gabmayer

The “Melker” Concerto in A Major, Hob. VII a: 3, is one of the few violin concertos by Joseph Haydn regarded as authentic. Listed in the Breitkopf catalogue in 1771, it was probably composed some time between 1765 and 1770. The autograph, regrettably, has not survived. The source on which the present edition is based consists of the principal and other violin parts, in the hand of an unknown copyist, preserved in the music collection of the Benedictine abbey of Melk (Stift Melk) in Austria (the work’s nickname derives from this location).

Add to shopping basket
Haydn Melker concerto

Violin concerto in A major, Hob. VII a:3, "Melker"
hh403.fsc (full score) · ISMN 979 0 708059 86 8  · ISBN 978-1-905779-34-5
hh403.ipt (parts) · hire
How to order
Return to home page