Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Johann Sebastian Bach

Concerto in D minor BWV 1052R

Violin, strings and basso continuo

edited and reconstructed by Fabrizio Ammetto
Add to shopping basketFull score and solo part
Add to shopping basketInstrumental parts

Leaflet Music example (pdf)

For nearly 150 years Bach’s ever-popular Concerto in D minor for harpsichord (BWV 1052) has been regarded as a transcription of a much earlier violin concerto. Numerous published reconstructions of this ‘lost original’ have appeared, as well as many modern recordings. However, previous violin reconstructions have proved unsatisfactory from both a musicological and a violinistic standpoint, and some leading scholars have even doubted that the violin was the original solo instrument. This latest reconstruction by late-Baroque specialist and violinist Fabrizio Ammetto, based on careful comparison of five surviving sources and close attention to the idiomatic solo writing (including full-length versions of the cadenzas for the outer movements), convincingly reaffirms the work’s status as a genuine violin concerto. The editor has added figured bass to the score for those who prefer to improvise a keyboard continuo, and the separate parts include a specimen cembalo realization.

Download the editor’s articles:
Ancora a proposito dell’origine di BWV 1052 di J. S. Bach: un concerto per violino debitore a Vivaldi
Postilla alla ricostruzione di BWV 1052 di J. S. Bach in risposta alla recensione di Jude Ziliak su «Early Music Performer»

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Concerto in D minor | Full score with solo part
hh505.fsc · ISMN 979-0-708185-30-7 · ISBN 978-1-910359-95-2
Concerto in D minor | Instrumental parts (3/3/2/2/Cembalo/Continuo) 
hh505.ipt · ISMN 979-0-708185-15-4
How to order
Return to home page