Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Andreas Jakob Romberg

Flute quintet in E minor

ed. Jennifer Caesar

Andreas Jakob Romberg (* Vechta, 27 April 1767,
+ Gotha, 10 November 1821) was born into a large
musical family and he himself played the violin from
an early age, making his debut at Munster at the age
of seven. He was later employed in the electoral
orchestra at Bonn which included Beethoven as one
of its members at that time. He later made Haydn's
acquaintance in Vienna during a visit in 1796.
The present edition of the Flute Quintets, Op. 41,
originally published in Paris in 1811, is based on
the copy in the music collection of the British Library,
London, shelf-mark g.1667.d. the title-page of
which set reads:

Trois | QUINTOURS | POUR | Flute | Violon, deux Altos
et Violoncelle | compos‚s | par | A.Romberg.
| Oeuvre 41. | A PARIS | au Bureau lithographique

In the present edition, editorial additions are shown
in square brackets except for ties/slurs which
are shown as broken ligatures. Minor typographical
errors in the original have been corrected
without comment.

Jennifer Caesar London, 2002