Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Joseph Lipavsky

Sonate concertante

Flute and Piano

edited by Martin Skamletz

The Sonate concertante in G major for flute and piano by Bohemian composer Joseph Lipavsky was published posthumously, as his ‘œuvre dernier’, in Vienna in 1810. The present edition is based on the printed copy in the Musikarchiv of the Stift Melk, Austria. The instrumental parts are of equal importance and moderate difficulty, and the work maintains an effective balance between melodic, virtuoso and slightly contrapuntal elements. This is a worthy addition to the Viennese classical flute repertoire.

Lipavsky's sonata is a 'big' piece in every sense, having three substantial sonata-form movements, a good mixture of lyrical and brilliant expression and some striking and attractive harmonic and contrapuntal effects. His writing is calculated to show off the flautist's and keyboardist's abilities in equal measure, hence the 'concertante' in the title. The music can be sampled in a lively video performance of the first movement given by Francesca Grilletto (flute) and Gigliola Di Grazia (fortepiano), who play on period instruments.

Add to shopping basket

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Sonate concertante
hh420.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708146 21 6 · ISBN 978-1-910359-36-5
How to order
Return to home page