Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

John Sheeles

Suites of Lessons, Book 1 (1724)


edited by Michael Talbot
Add to shopping basketPlaying score

Leaflet Music example Suite 1 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Suite 2 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Suite 3 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Suite 4 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Suite 5 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Suite 6 (pdf)
Leaflet Music example Suite 7 (pdf)

John Sheeles (1695–1765) published two books of harpsichord suites, in 1724 and c.1730 respectively. These basically follow in the tradition of Restoration composers such as Purcell and Croft, but more recent influences, such as those of Corelli, Handel and even Domenico Scarlatti are also discernible. Sheeles has a distinct gift for melody and for developing musical motives intensively and inventively, while always treating the keyboard in a highly varied and idiomatic manner. Each of the thirteen suites, all containing between three and five movements, follows an individual plan, mixing lengthy and sometimes ambitious movements with shorter, simpler ones. This is their first modern edition, and one that promises to win Sheeles's music many admirers.

“These suites offer valuable material for teaching as well as making attractive additions to recitals as an example of the development of the English keyboard suite in the earlier eighteenth-century.”

British Clavichord Society Newsletter

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Suites of Lessons, Book 1 (1724)
hh459.sol · ISMN 979 0 708146 67 4 · ISBN 978-1-910359-68-6
How to order
Return to home page