Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Jeremy Arden

Im Freygish

String quartet

Im Freygish was initially inspired by Rebecca Abrams’s book The Jewish Journey: 4000 Years in 22 Objects from the Ashmolean Museum (2017). Excited by the idea that traditions and objects, and – in the case of music – scales and melodic forms, are passed between the generations and have travelled with the Jewish diaspora across the world, the composer wanted to write a piece that reflects this complex and multilayered story. Each of the four movements is inspired by generalized characteristics that Jeremy associates with Jewish culture: a yearning for truth, a questioning of authority, a thirst for mystical connection and a talent for joyful celebration.

Add to shopping basketFull score and parts

Piano and cello
Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Im Freygish · Full score and parts
hh477.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708146 88 6
How to order
Return to home page