Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Joseph Haydn

Symphony in E flat major No. 103 (‘Drumroll’).


arranged for pianoforte by Carl David Stegmann

edited by Sarah Jenner

Leaflet Music example (pdf)

Haydn’s Symphony No. 103 was first performed on 2 March 1795 at the King’s Theatre, Haymarket, under the direction of the composer himself at the fortepiano, at the fourth concert of G.B.Viotti’s Opera Concert Series.

The enthusiastic, and discriminating, audience reception of the new symphony was reported thus in The Morning Chronicle:

Another new Overture [=Symphony], by the fertile and enchanting HAYDN, was performed; which, as usual, had continual strokes of genius, both in air and harmony. The Introduction excited the deepest attention, the Allegro charmed, the Andante was encored, the Minuets, especially the Trio, were playful and sweet, and the last movement was equal, if not superior to the preceding.

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Symphony in E flat major ‘Drumroll’
hh516.sol  · ISMN 979 0 708185 26 0
How to order
Return to home page