Home page
Composer | Editor | Group | Instrumentation | Series |

Anton Eberl

Sonata in D minor

Violin and fortepiano

edited by Martin Harlow
Add to shopping basketFull score and parts
LeafletMusic example (pdf)

Among Vienna’s many composers and pianists of the time, Anton Eberl (1765–1807) was the one considered most worthy of comparison with Beethoven. His Sonata in D minor, the fifth of seven sonatas, Op. 14, for violin and piano, was composed around 1800–01, at the time when Beethoven wrote his violin sonatas Op. 23 in A minor and Op. 24 in F major (‘Spring’). In its duration, formal and harmonic novelty, and lively relationship between the instruments, the piece reveals much of the musical ambition and quality typical of Beethoven’s works rather than those in the genre by Eberl’s lesser contemporaries. The Op. 14 sonatas (and the three Op. 13 quartets) were first published in Vienna in autumn 1801 by Tranquillo Mollo (the publisher of Beethoven’s Opp. 23 and 24 and string quartets Op.18, nos. 4–6). All seven sonatas will appear in Edition HH.

Look inside

Leaflet Descriptive leaflet (pdf)

Violin Sonata in D minor
hh422.fsp · ISMN 979 0 708146 23 0 · ISBN 978-1-910359-37-2
How to order
Return to home page