Home page
Composer†| Editor†| Group†| Instrumentation†| Series |

Anton Eberl

Sonata in F major, Op. 49

Violin and pianoforte

edited by Martin Harlow

Among Viennaís many composers and pianists of the time, Anton Eberl (1765Ė1807) was the one considered most worthy of comparison with Beethoven. His Sonata in F major, Op.49, is probably the first of his seven sonatas with violin, and was published posthumously in Vienna the year after his March 1807 death. Surviving correspondence between Eberlís widow, Maria Anna, and the Leipzig publisher Ambrosius KŁhnel permit an accurate dating of the work at 1792. This makes the sonata, and its companion in B flat major, Op.50 (1795), works of particular interest to modern performers, as they pre-date Beethovenís Op.12 set of three sonatas with violin from 1798. The models for Eberlís first two sonatas with violin came from Mozart. Op.49 inhabits the expressive world of Mozartís keyboard and violin sonata in F major, K.376, whilst Op.50 was fashioned more directly on Mozartís keyboard and violin sonata in B flat major, K.454, Eberl even quoting from this work. But both of Eberlís works also look forward to Beethovenís contributions to the genre, and in their durations, formal and harmonic novelty, and in the lively relationship between the violin and keyboard, Op.49 and Op.50 share much of the musical ambition and quality of Beethovenís early works in this genre.
All seven of Eberlís Sonatas with Violin are appearing from Edition HH.

Look inside

Sonata in F major, Op. 49
hh426.fsp ∑ ISMN 979 0 708146 27 8 ∑ ISBN 978-1-910359-41-9
How to order
Return to home page